top of page
Search
  • Casey

Rehearsal Journal Day 3

Updated: Sep 12, 2019

Rehearsal Plan

6:30-8:30 Finish Scene-to-Scene Table work

8:30-10:30 Continue Viewpoints Intro and Ensemble Based Movement


Notes:

Wow! I am so incredibly excited about how today's rehearsal went. We breezed through table work, and then we moved into Viewpoints. I was still pretty nervous about the whole thing; I just get worried that I'll push too hard and I'll lose their trust and respect. However, it was like a keystone fell into place, and suddenly they became this magnificent and powerful ensemble. I started them with flow and let them loosen up with that, and then I moved them into Open Viewpoints. It was so cool seeing them incrementally becoming attuned to each others presence. Then I added music. It was like all of them had an epiphany at once and they gave this gorgeous, crisp, and graphic improvised performance. There were some true moments of transcendence there, and the power of that experience really excited them. For the next round, I had them work with music that was directly related to the show, and Colin and I nearly exploded. They developed this convulsive, anguished physical vocabulary that is exactly what we've been looking for. It was like one of those Renaissance death paintings coming to life with this exquisite sustained motion. Truly inspiring. Colin and I are going to work it through the show as a physical motif. I am so glad that I took the time and courage to advocate for movement work because now everybody is on the same page as me. The proof is in the pudding people! You don't create moments like that without delving deep into ensemble movement.



1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Rehearsal Journal Day 6

Rehearsal Plan: Skeletal Blocking: Scene 5 (The Florian Part), 10, 2, 5 6:30-7:30 Scene 5 (Jak/Lang/Dex/Tweek) 7:30- 8:30 Scene 2 (Jak/Lang/Florian/Dead Dog) 8:30-9:30 Scene 10 (Florian/Rhonda/Lang/Ja

Rehearsal Journal Day 5

Rehearsal Plan: Skeletal Blocking Scene 5 (the parts w/o Florian), 7, 9,11 6:30-7:30 Scene 5 (Dex/Tweek/Lang/Jak/Dead Dog) 7:30-9:00 Scene 9 (Jak/Lang/Dex/Tweek/Ikki Ikki) 9:00-10 Scene 8 (Jak/Lang)

Rehearsal Journal Day 4

Rehearsal Plan: Skeletal Blocking- scene's 7,1,3,6 6:30-7:30 Scene 7 (Lang/Rhonda) 7:30-8:30 Scene 1 (Jak/Lang/Dead Dog) 8:30-9:30 Scene 3 (Jak/Lang/Dead Dog) 9:30-10:30 Scene 6 (Jak/Lang/Dead Dog) No

bottom of page